Mt St Michael’s College was named in 1941. From 1928 to 1941 it was previously known as “Grantuly College”. From 1925-1928 Grantuly College was preceded by a primary school known as Saint Finbarr’s. The College, in its above three iterations, was conducted in the same location by the Sisters of Charity until 2009 when responsibility for the College was transferred to Mary Aikenhead Ministries.
Our College Collection
The Mt St Michael’s College Archive preserves records that are of enduring value to the College community. This enduring value can be attributed to spiritual, cultural, legal, administrative, financial or historical imperatives. The archival collection consists of records generated by the College in the course of its functioning as a Catholic school from 1925 to the present date. The collection also consists of records that are donations from parents, staff, students and past students of the College.
Further records exist that relate to the origins of the Sisters of Charity in Ireland, their foundation in Australia and their establishment of a school and convent in Ashgrove. Other records relate to the local history of Ashgrove and its environs. The collection, which is housed in both a physical and digital archive, consists of text, photos, textiles, videos and film, plans, books and publications.
The archival collection assists Mt St Michael’s to recall, clarify and celebrate its ongoing identity as a Catholic school community in the Archdiocese of Brisbane, following the person of Jesus in the tradition of Mary Aikenhead.
Donate to the Collection
The Mt St Michael’s Archive welcomes donations to the collection. Donations could include, but are not limited to, photos, memories recorded as oral histories, memorabilia, uniforms or educational records.